Wednesday, 29 July 2009 02:25

2009 STCA winners: Los Monarcas

Veteran group Los Monarcas were named the STCA Conjunt of the year at the 2009 STCA awards held recently. Los Monarcas are a solid group from the Houston area.

Other major winners included Agustin Gallardo, Ramon Ayala and Ruben Naranjo III. Full list below.

The 11th Annual Conjunto

of the Year Awards Show were held in Edinburgh and presented by the South Texas Conjunto Association, an organization led by Lupe Saenz.

STCA Awards winners

Single of the Year – Corrido De Los Alvarez Brothers
Accordion Player of the Year – Ruben Naranjo III
Bajo Player of the Year – Ramon Ayala (Los Hermanos Ayala) 
Bass Player of the Year – Sal Rodriguez
Drummer of the Year – Juan Tellez
Vocalist of the Year – Tony Saenz
Album of the Year – Homenaje A Las Leyendas
Upcoming Conjunto – Gerardo Mejia Y Su Conjunto
Pioneer Conjunto Award - Aguistin Gallardo
Lifetime Achievement Award  – Chano Cadena
Hall of Fame       Bene Medina, Manuel G. Davila            
STCA 2009 Conjunto of the Year – Los Monarcas