Tuesday, 20 July 2010 23:01

The popular Ricky Naranjo Y Los Gamblers won the 2010 South Texas Conjunto of the Year honors last week in the Rio Grande Valley.

The annual STCA awards recognize and honor the most popular conjunto groups in South Texas.

The 12th Annual STCA Conjunto of the Year Awards were held July 18 at the JAGZ Ballroom, 5419 N. Cage Blvd. in Pharr, Texas.

The performing groups at the awards were Ricardo Guzman Jr. y Los 3 Aces from

 Edinburg, Texas, Los Bandoleros from Elsa, Texas and Los Texas Wranglers from Austin.

STCA is a non-profit organization that promotes South Texas conjunto regional music of accordion, bajo-sexto, bass, and drums to young people throughout the Southwest and the United States. STCA promotes conjunto regional music and educates young musicians about the real roots of Texas music.

The complete list of STCA winners:

1. Conjunto of the Year Ricky NaranjoY Los Gamblers
2. Aunque Pasen Los Anos – Los Fantamas
3. Conjunto Single of the Year –Tres Flores – Ricardo Guzman
4. 2010 Female Vocalist – Mickey Mendoza
5. 2010 Male Vocalist – Boni Mauricio
6. Drummer of the Year – Dario Los Dos Gilbertos
7. Bass Player of the Year – Jesse Garza :Los IV del Barrio
8. Bajo Player – Pete Diaz – Los Monarcas
9. Acordionist of the Year – Charlie Saenz – Leo Y Los Dominantes
Upcoming New Conjunto – Lazaro Perez