Wednesday, 06 October 2010 12:14

Loretta Lynn is a name that transcends not only generations in country music, but also music genres worldwide.

Lynn, a three-time Grammy winner, will be honored with a tribute featuring superstars Garth Brooks, Martina McBride, Kid Rock, Gretchen Wilson, Lee Ann Womack, and Reba McEntire.

The tribute is scheduled at 6 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 12, at the Ryman Auditorium, 116 Fifth Avenue North in Nashville, TN.

Also participating in the tribute are musician/producer Jack White, Recording

Academy President/CEO Neil Portnow, and Recording Academy Chair George Flanigen

The star-studded tribute will also include a special presentation of The Recording Academy President's Merit Award to Lynn in honor of her dynamic career and contributions to country music.

Established in 1957, The Recording Academy is an organization of musicians, producers, engineers and recording professionals that is dedicated to improving the cultural condition and quality of life for music and its makers.

Internationally known for the GRAMMY Awards — the preeminent peer-recognized award for musical excellence and the most credible brand in music — The Recording Academy is responsible for groundbreaking professional development, cultural enrichment, advocacy, education and human services programs.

The Academy continues to focus on its mission of recognizing musical excellence, advocating for the well-being of music makers and ensuring music remains an indelible part of our culture.